2013 Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards have been given out every year since 1955. This year’s winners for the Hugo Awards were announced at LoneStarCon3, the 71st World Science Fiction Convention, held in San Antonio, TX, August 29 ? September 2, 2013. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Best Novel

Winner: Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi (Tor)
2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
Blackout by Mira Grant (Orbit)
Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi (Tor)
Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed (DAW)

Best Novella

Winner: The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon Publications)
After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress (Tachyon Publications)
On a Red Station, Drifting by Aliette de Bodard (Immersion Press)
San Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California Browncoats by Mira Grant (Orbit)
?The Stars Do Not Lie? by Jay Lake (Asimov’s, Oct-Nov 2012)

Best Novelette

Winner: ?The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi? by Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity, Solaris)
?The Boy Who Cast No Shadow? by Thomas Olde Heuvelt (Postscripts: Unfit For Eden, PS Publications)
?Fade To White? by Catherynne M. Valente (Clarkesworld, August 2012)
?In Sea-Salt Tears? by Seanan McGuire (Self-published)
?Rat-Catcher? by Seanan McGuire (A Fantasy Medley 2, Subterranean)

Best Short Story

Winner: ?Mono no Aware? by Ken Liu (The Future is Japanese, VIZ Media LLC)
?Immersion? by Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld, June 2012)
?Mantis Wives? by Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, August 2012)
Note: category has 3 nominees due to a 5% requirement under Section 3.8.5 of the WSFS constitution.

Best Related Work

Winner: Writing Excuses Season Seven by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler and Jordan Sanderson
The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature Edited by Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge UP)
Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them Edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Sigrid Ellis (Mad Norwegian Press)
Chicks Unravel Time: Women Journey Through Every Season of Doctor Who Edited by Deborah Stanish & L.M. Myles (Mad Norwegian Press)
I Have an Idea for a Book? The Bibliography of Martin H. Greenberg Compiled by Martin H. Greenberg, edited by John Helfers (The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box)

Best Graphic Story

Winner: Saga, Volume One written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
Grandville B?te Noire written and illustrated by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse Comics, Jonathan Cape)
Locke & Key Volume 5: Clockworks written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)
Schlock Mercenary: Random Access Memorabilia by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (Hypernode Media)
Saucer Country, Volume 1: Run written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Ryan Kelly, Jimmy Broxton and Goran Sud?uka (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner: The Avengers Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount)
The Cabin in the Woods Screenplay by Drew Goddard & Joss Whedon; Directed by Drew Goddard (Mutant Enemy, Lionsgate)
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro, Directed by Peter Jackson (WingNut Films, New Line Cinema, MGM, Warner Bros)
The Hunger Games Screenplay by Gary Ross & Suzanne Collins, Directed by Gary Ross (Lionsgate, Color Force)
Looper Screenplay and Directed by Rian Johnson (FilmDistrict, EndGame Entertainment)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner: Game of Thrones: ?Blackwater? Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)
Doctor Who: ?The Angels Take Manhattan? Written by Steven Moffat, Directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)
Doctor Who: ?Asylum of the Daleks? Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)
Doctor Who: ?The Snowmen? Written by Steven Moffat, Directed by Saul Metzstein (BBC Wales)
Fringe: ?Letters of Transit? Written by J.J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, Akiva Goldsman, J.H.Wyman, Jeff Pinkner. Directed by Joe Chappelle (Fox)

Best Editor, Short Form

Winner: Stanley Schmidt
John Joseph Adams
Neil Clarke
Jonathan Strahan
Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

Winner: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
Lou Anders
Sheila Gilbert
Liz Gorinsky
Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist

Winner: John Picacio
Vincent Chong
Julie Dillon
Dan Dos Santos
Chris McGrath

Best Semiprozine

Winner: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker
Apex Magazine edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore and Michael Damian Thomas
Beneath Ceaseless Skies edited by Scott H. Andrews
Lightspeed edited by John Joseph Adams and Stefan Rudnicki
Strange Horizons edited by Niall Harrison, Jed Hartman, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Abigail Nussbaum, Sonya Taaffe, Dave Nagdeman and Rebecca Cross

Best Fanzine

Winner: SF Signal edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester
Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
The Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia and James Bacon
Elitist Book Reviews edited by Steven Diamond
Journey Planet edited by James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Emma J. King, Helen J. Montgomery and Pete Young

Best Fan Writer

Winner: Tansy Rayner Roberts
James Bacon
Christopher J Garcia
Mark Oshiro
Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

Winner: Galen Dara
Brad W. Foster
Spring Schoenhuth
Maurine Starkey
Steve Stiles

Best Fancast

Winner: SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters) and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)
The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)
SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester, John DeNardo, and JP Frantz
StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Winner: Mur Lafferty
Zen Cho
Max Gladstone
Stina Leicht
Chuck Wendig

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>